Dhoni to take Indian Team for ICC World T20 on March 14…


The under-fire Indian squad, which flopped in the just concluded Asia Cup in Bangladesh, is set to depart from here on Friday for the ICC World T20 Championship, scheduled in the same country from March 16.

India open their campaign, to regain the title that they won in its inaugural year in 2007, against arch-foes Pakistan on March 21 at Mirpur in a Super 10 game.

Prior to the lung opener the team, led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni – who had skipped the Asia Cup because of a side strain – would play in a couple of warm-up games against Sri Lanka (March 17) and England (March 19).

According to Cricket Board sources, Dhoni and under-fire coach Duncan Fletcher are not scheduled to address the media here prior to leaving for Dhaka.

“The media conference will be held after they reach Dhaka,” BCCI sources said.

There was no pre-departure media meet when the team, led by stand-by captain ViratKohli, left from here on February 23 for the Asia Cup.

Squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, ViratKohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, AjinkyaRahane, RavindraJadeja, R Ashwin Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Stuart Binny, Amit Mishra, Mohit Sharma and Varun Aaron.

Related Articles:

StriveBlue Home|Poompugar Shoppings