Narendra Modi unanimously selected as the Prime Minister of India …


This is the temple of democracy. Position is not important, the responsibility bestowed on us by 125 crore Indians is more important – Modi

I thank you all that you have unanimously given me a new responsibility. If Vajpayee ji would have been here it would have been better – Modi

I had tears in my eyes when India became independent, then I had tears when emergency ended and when Narendrabhai greeted me today, I got tears in my eyes as it is an historic moment of happiness, says LK Advani.

In Hyderabad, Narendrabhai said “yes we can”, as party President I can say “Yes, he will” – Rajnath Singh

Narendra Modi gets standing ovation from newly elected BJP MPs.

Rajnath Singh declares Narendra Modi elected as BJP parliamentary party leader.

Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, Karia Munda, Gopinath Munde, Ravishankar Prasad, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi also second Advani’s proposal.

Murli Manohar Joshi, Venkaiah Naidu, Nitin Gadkari second the name of Modi as the leader of the parliamentary party.

I propose the name of Naredra Modi as the leader of BJP’s Parliamentary Party, says Advani.

It is an historic moment, says Rajnath Singh, adding that it is the first time PM-designate Narendra Modi has come to the central hall of Parliament.

Narendra Modi arrives in Parliament, touches his forehead on the ground outside the entrance. With folded hands he greets all and then touches Advani’s feet before taking his seat on the stage with Rajnath Singh and LK Advani.

PM-designate Narendra Modi leaves Gujarat Bhawan for Parliament.

Newly elected MPs and BJP supporters have started trooping into the Central Hall of Parliament. Narendra Modi to arrive shortly.

Parliament House is all decked up to welcome the new MPs, especially PM-designate Narendra Modi.

Modi will be elected by BJP’s 282 MPS as the Parliamentary Party leader at a meeting in the central hall of Parliament. Party patriarch LK Advani will propose his name as the new leader of the Parliamentary Party.

Later, the NDA MPs will also elect him as the leader of NDA parliamentary coalition.

“I feel Cabinet should be the sole prerogative of the PM-designate, he (Modi ) will be responsible for delivery also so he must be given a free hand,” Parrikar told a news channel after meeting Modi

Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar has met Narendra Modi at Gujarat Bhavan. Parrikar is known to be close to Modi and had played a key role in getting the party to declare Modi as PM nominee in September last year.

Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar has met Narendra Modi at Gujarat Bhavan. Parrikar is known to be close to Modi and had played a key role in getting the party to declare Modi as PM nominee in September last year.

PM-designate Narendra Modi will meet President Pranab Mukherjee to officially express willingness to form the government, which may be sworn-in by the weekend.

63-year-old Modi will be accompanied by an NDA delegation to the Rashtrapati Bhavan at around 3 pm. The coalition partners will convey to the President their decision to elect Modi as their leader. The NDA has won 336 of the 543 seats in the Lok Sabha.

The President will then formally seek Modi’s opinion on the swearing-in ceremony, following which the date, when the Modi government will assume office, will be announced.

Even as the process of government formation has officially begun, there is little clarity on the names which have made it to the Modi cabinet.

Party president Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, Murli Manohar Joshi,Venkaiah Naidu and Nitin Gadkari are among those who are certain to find place in the new cabinet.

However, the role of Advani in the new government is not clear. While reports have indicated that he wants to be the Speaker of the Lok Sabha, a definitive decision on the matter is yet to be arrived at.

As Shahnawaz Hussain has lost the Lok Sabha polls, party vice president Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi could be the sole Muslim face in the Cabinet.

While Rajnath is the clear favourite for the home ministry, the jury is out between Arun Jaitley and Arun Shourie for the Finance Ministry.

Some leaders belonging to allies like Shiv Sena, TDP, and LJP may also be included. Old ally Akali Dal has already declared that it is not interested in being part of the government.

Gujarat Bhawan in central Delhi as been the nerve-centre of activities as Modi has made it his temporary residence before he moves to 7 Race Course Road.

Modi will go to Ahmedabad in the evening and address a rally at his assembly constituency Maninagar at 7 pm and tell the voters that he would be resigning and moving on to Delhi.

The PM-designate will resign as Chief Minister tomorrow and a new leader of the Gujarat BJP Legislature Party will be elected to succeed him in the state.

Modi’s close confidante and Revenue Minister Anandiben Patel is said to be the frontrunner for the Chief Minister’s post.

Related Articles:

StriveBlue Home|Poompugar Shoppings