NASA to launch SMAP rocket today…

Advertisement

The National Aeronautics and Space Administration is all set to launch the Soil Moisture Active Passive satellite (SMAP) mission today at 6:20 am PST (9:20 am EST; 1420 GMT).

Launch was originally planned for Thursday but got delayed by 24 hours, due to high winds, NASA said.

On its website, United Launch Alliance said: “During inspections following the January 29 launch attempt, minor debonds to the booster insulation were identified.

These insulation debonds are associated with cryogenic conditions experienced during tanking operations and a standard repair will be implemented”.

The space agency’s Soil Moisture Active Passive satellite (SMAP) mission is making another attempt to blast off atop a United Launch Alliance Delta II rocket from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California.

Related Articles:

StriveBlue Home|Poompugar Shoppings